Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
Graduate College

Oklahoma State University

Developing the person, the scholar and the professional...

Worth the Journey for 3MT® Winner

Friday, November 22, 2019

Dr. Jean Van Deliner presents Conner McDaniel with her first place certificate.

Things get easier with time – just ask Food Science Ph.D. student Conner McDaniel.

The Ardmore native won the 2019 Oklahoma State University 3-Minute Thesis® Finals, sponsored by Halliburton, in her third year of participating.

As she walked out of the Student Union Theater with $1000, McDaniel took her final steps in an eye opening OSU 3MT® journey.

 “You might not recognize it now, but three years ago I was deathly terrified of public speaking - a nervous wreck,” she said. “And this just really opened my eyes and [has] given me so much confidence in the ability to talk about what I do in front of people I don’t know.”

Now, McDaniel is quick to tell her fellow graduate students to take advantage of opportunities like 3MT® competitions in order to develop their public speaking skills.

“That’s something I think a lot of people coming into graduate school maybe don’t have as much experience in as other things,” McDaniel said. “So, [3MT®] is a great way to expand on your knowledge of public speaking and to gain confidence in it. And it’s only three minutes long – you can do anything for three minutes.”

In her three minutes, she questioned “Does an Apple a Day Really Keep the Doctor Away?” by confidently introducing the audience to sodium acid sulfate, an antimicrobial her research has shown is more effective in reducing listeria in produce compared to the chlorine the food industry currently uses.

She explained that more than half of foodborne illness is caused by produce contamination – causing 25 million illnesses a year and that this new antimicrobial could reduce these numbers.

“An effective antimicrobial wash solution used during produce processing is the key in reducing foodborne illnesses caused by fresh produce every year.

I believe this novel antimicrobial is going to increase the chances of an apple a day actually keeping the doctor away.”

McDaniel was accompanied in the top three by Nutritional Sciences Masters student Laurie Thompson and Veterinary Pathobiology Ph.D. student Sai Narayanan, who placed second and third respectively. The night’s People’s Choice award, which is voted by the audience, went to Experimental Psychology Ph.D. student Erin Wood.

For their efforts, Thompson was awarded $750, Narayanan received $500, and Wood was given $1000.

Dr. Van Delinder joined the 12 finalists for a group photo after the event.

The competitors weren’t the only ones to receive checks, however.

Veterinary Biomedical Sciences Masters student Lulu Guo held a raffle ticket that won her a $250 travel award and Chemical Engineering Ph.D. student Ted Sperry possessed the ticket that won the Chemical Engineering program $2000.

The competition was emceed by the 14th and first female president of the Oklahoma State University Alumni Association, Blaire Atkinson and Stillwater Mayor Will Joyce, Payne and Logan Counties District Attorney Laura Austin Thomas, OSU Police Chief Leon Jones, Stillwater Public Schools Superintendent Mark Moore, Academic Services for Student Athletes Director Marilyn Middlebrook, and Halliburton Chief Technical Advisor Tim Hunter served as the event’s judges.

As the first place winner, McDaniel will now be headed to the regional 3MT competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools annual meeting in Birmingham, Alabama in March 2020.

“I’m excited to see things from other universities and the research that goes on at them as well,” she said. “Being a part of this competition lets me see Oklahoma State [University] wide, but being able to see across the country the type of research that is going on is really going to be something I’m looking forward to.”

Dr. Jean Van Delinder, Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate College, kicked off the event Tuesday, November 22, 2019. 
Blaire Atkinson, Oklahoma State University Alumni Association President emceed the event. 
Tim Hunter, Chief Technical Advisor at Halliburton, represented the sponsor and served as a judge at the event.
Laurie Thompson accepts her second place certificate from Dr. Van Delinder.
Dr. Van Delinder presents Sai Narayanan with his third place certificate.
Erin Wood took home the People’s Choice award signified by receiving a cetificate from Dr. Van Delinder.
Erin Wood took home the People’s Choice award, signified by receiving a certificate from Dr. Van Delinder.
The finalists and their guests attended a lunch in the Sequoyah Room of the Student Union before the event. 
Veterinary biomedical sciences masters student Lulu Guo was the Travel Award raffle winner and received $250 to use for conference travel.
The largest monetary award of the day went to the School of Chemical Engineering through the attendace of Ph.D. student Ted Sperry. Sperry's ticket was drawn in the Program raffle.
The largest monetary award of the day went to the School of Chemical Engineering through the attendance of Ph.D. student Ted Sperry. Sperry's ticket was drawn in the Program raffle, giving the school $2000 in professional development funds.